Northern Light Trial

The Library trial of the Northern Light Database is available now.

Northern Light is a grey literature database, ideal for research scientists at pharmaceutical and biotech companies, healthcare organizations, academic institutions, research libraries, and research teams at hospitals.

It provides unique access to abstracts and posters from medical and life sciences conferences from across the globe.

The Library is actively seeking your feedback. This trial is available from Monday 16th October to Wednesday 15th November 2017.

Need help? Ask the Library

 

Anatomedia Trial

The Library trial of the Anatomedia Database is available now.

This multidisciplinary resource has 9 interactive modules covering General Anatomy, Back, Abdomen, Thorax, Pelvis, Upper Limb, Lower Limb, Neck and Head, images, videos and slides.

The Library is actively seeking your feedback. This trial is available from Wednesday 4th October to Friday 27th October 2017.

Need help? Ask the Library

 

Gale Reference Complete Trial

The Library trial of the Gale Reference Complete Database is available now.

This multidisciplinary resource provides scholarly content in a wide range of formats including journals, ebooks, historical primary sources, podcasts, videos, transcripts, newspaper articles, as well as radio and TV broadcasts.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience across broad topic clusters.

The Library is actively seeking your feedback. This trial is available from Monday 25th September to Friday 3rd November 2017.

Need help? Ask the Library

 

Database issues: ICLR technical issues

ICLR is currently experiencing technical issues.  It maybe necessary to clear your browser’s cache & cookies in between sessions.

To learn how to clear your cache & cookies, please follow this link: http://www.newcastle.edu.au/library/access/clearing-your-cache-and-cookies

In the meantime, we are working with our vendor towards a resolution.

Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause.

 

Kanopy – now there’s an app for that!

Kanopy  is now available on Android or Apple
Stream acclaimed movies and documentaries on your phone or tablet.

Other apps that can make it a little easier to find or use services at UON include:

Try our Mobile technologies guide – find apps for your favorite databases and tools to save you time and improve your skills.

 

Gale Database Trials

We now have some new trial databases available from Gale Cengage Learning

The trials are available from 25th July 2017 – 1st December 2017:

Associated Press Collections Online Trial

 

 

Nineteenth Century Collections Online Trial

 

 

Making of modern law legal treatises 1800-1926 Trial

 

 

Making of modern law foreign comparative and international Law 1600-1926 Trial

 

 

Making of modern law foreign primary sources, 1600-1970 Trial

 

 

Making of modern law primary sources, 1620-1926 Trial

 

 

Making of modern law historical trials, 1600-1926 Trial

 

 

Making of modern law US Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978 Trial

 

 

Making of modern law American Civil Liberties Union papers, 1912-1990 Trial

That’s me, that’s my ID !

Make your Author IDs work for you.  Harness the power of Author Identifiers to Maximise Your Research Impact

Author IDs are a good way to help make sure your work is being credited to you.  Having and using Author IDs makes it easier for your research to be correctly attributed to you and any associated metrics such as citations are recorded for you. Three Author IDs that can help to maximise your impact and visibility are ScopusId and ResearcherID, and ORCID.

Scopus Author ID (Elsevier)

ResearcherID (Clarivate Analytics prev. Thomson Reuters)

ORCID

Read more about ORCID here.

Using your Author IDs can save you time!

Here are two things that you can do to save time.

  1. Add your identifiers into the NURO publications system to link your identifiers with your publications within NURO. This will save you time in the future because your publications are automatically and instantly claimed on your behalf. Linking more than one ID in NURO helps with more comprehensive matching of your publications. For example, Scopus and Web of Science provide coverage of literature across different disciplines. Utilising multiple Author IDs provides an efficient method to showcase your research.
  2. Add your Author IDs to your UON online researcher profile today!

Read more on how to Maximise your research impact and visibility

Need Help?

Contact your Senior Research Librarian.

New database – Safetyhub

A new database, Safetyhub, is now available in ‘Database by title’

Safetyhub is a cross-platform safety training video streaming website with assessments and trainee management. Videos can be streamed and viewed on any device: iPhone, iPad, PC, Mac, and Android

 

 

 

This database is also available by searching Newcat+